Rock Bands & Pop Stars
Browse Line: Home / L / LE / Less Than Jake Language: EspaƱol - English

List of Less Than Jake albums

Less Than Jake Album - Goodbye Blue & White

Less Than Jake Album - Goodbye Blue & White (Front side)
Album Information :
Title: Goodbye Blue & White
Approx. Price:$14.98 (USD)
Release Date:
Type:Audio CD
Label:Fueled By Ramen
Customers Rating :
Average (4.2) :(14 votes)
7 votes
4 votes
2 votes
1 votes
0 votes
Track Listing :
3 Mixology Of Tom Collins
4 Modern World
5 Yo-Yo Ninja Boy
6 Dopeman (Remix)
7 Rock-N-Roll Pizzeria (7 Inch Version)
8 We're Not Gonna Take It
10 Teenager In Love
11 Freeze Frame
12 Your Love
13 Scott Farcas Takes It On The Chin (7 Inch Version)
14 Descant
15 Evil Has No Boundaries
16 Anti-Christ
17 Cheez (7 Inch Version)
18 Mississippi Mud
19 Hamburger Hop
20 KROQ Song
(Escondido, CA United States)
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
- Does this mean we got another 2-year wait for a real album?

Less Than Jake fans should love this compilation, as it encompasses the band's entire career, except maybe for the really gritty earliest days. They excel at covers, and since a lot of their own work on this CD appeared on 7"s or b-sides or whatever (the unspoken symbol of that which lacks a certain quality), none of it is quite as rambunctious, well-produced, and capable of pumping you up as the songs "I Think I Love You", "We're Not Gonna Take It", and "Teenager in Love". Another habit of theirs is remaking earlier music, such as "Jen Doesn't Like Me Anymore" and "Johnny Quest Thinks We're Sellouts" reappearing with superior recordings on Losing Streak; on GB&W there's a slew of familiar titles, from "Scott Farcas" and "Rock'n'Roll Pizzeria" to "Dopeman" and "Cheez" (shortened from the Hello Rockview track "Richard Allen George...No, It's Just Cheez"), but aside from "Dopeman", most of them sound more primitive than their official versions, which is a bit disappointing. As for "Dopeman", I've always considered it an anomaly of LTJ's. The most mellow of all their songs, it's practically hip-hop, so the potential for fans of this furiously upbeat punk troupe to dislike it is high. Even I used to think it was weak, but after a while you get used to it, and the remix presented here is actually better than the original, I think. The background drum beat is accentuated, for one thing, making the overall rhythm catchier than before. A number of other selections fail to leave their mark; I'm thinking of "Descant", "Evil Has No Boundaries", "Son of Dick", and "Anti-Christ". In most cases it's the vocals, which are less refined than the best of Less Than Jake (which, I think, is represented by the supreme Hello Rockview; none of their other albums even come close). Thankfully, these hints of mediocrity are overshadowed by perennial tunes "Freeze Frame", "Your Love", "Losing Streak", "Modern World", and "Mixology of Tom Collins", any of which would be welcome alongside the tracks on their full-length albums. "Yo-Yo Ninja Boy" has a stupid title, and the lyrics ain't a big improvement, but it's kinda fun, albeit short (like most everything on this CD, I should warn, it's less than 2 minutes long). But best of all, even better than "I Think I Love You", are the final 3 tracks, each a brief advertisement-related ditty that stray from the usual LTJ formula. "Mud" is a rushed a-capella, while "Hamburger Hop" sounds just like some '50s radio commercial, and "KROQ Song" is a catchy, self-effacing little jingle. Creative endeavors like these really distinguish a band, and don't receive nearly the attention they deserve. I imagine the majority of bands have music recorded in all sorts of venues and circumstances beyond album and concert formats, and Goodbye Blue and White is an ingenious shout-out to all those lost, forgotten, or otherwise uncredited pieces in the resume puzzle. LTJ aren't the first ones to compile previously released stuff (for the sake of cashing in on their eventual success, obviously), but if more artists had copious and diverse comp records like this one, instead of small-sized EPs littered with their worst junk and fit only for the most die-hard collector, maybe the waters of music consumerism would be safer to navigate

1) I Think I Love You (A)

Customer review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
- Good stuff.

I have to say this is one of LTJ's best. A note to the guy a couple of reiews below me: You say the tracklisting was wrong on yours. You're right and you're wrong. They had two pressings of this CD. They changed the tracklisting during the second pressing.

(Westville, UT USA)
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
- Really, Really, Really Cool Album

This CD is great for true Less Than Jake fans. It may not be the best for those who only like some of their songs, because it is mainly a compilation of covers, rare songs not put on other albums, or 7" versions of some popular songs. It's not a super polished record or anything like that is all I'm saying, but it's good. If you but it for no other reason just get it for the booklet, it has all these band member memories of the "blue and white," their old tour van, which broke down, hence the name, "Goodbye Blue and White." It's cool, you should probably get it if you want to be cool too.


My hubby loves LTJ and when it comes to his music about the only thing I listen to. I Think I Love You, was one of the first song that he played for me, then the CD broke. So how perfect is it to buy for our anniversary. And I do not agree with the below 3 rating, I'm not a huge punk, ska, grunge fan but I am a LTJ fan and I enjoy the garage band sound of this CD, brings me back to my teens when I was dating my hubby 10 yrs ago!

(new zealand)
- pretty good

this is a good cd. It's a compalation of the stuff not good enough for an album. SO technacly it's a worst of album. But it has some great songs and a awsome cover of i think i love you. It's a good cd but it's not for the average joe of a less than jake fan. If u are buying 1 cd make it hello rockview becasue that was the very high point of their career.

Discographies - Pictures - Lyrics - Midis - Wallpapers - News - Concert Tickets - DVDs - Music Videos
Contact Us - Advertise - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use