Rock Bands & Pop Stars
Navegación: Inicio / A / AC / AC/DC Idioma: Español - English

Lista de discos de AC/DC

Disco de AC/DC - Flick of the Switch

Disco de AC/DC - Flick of the Switch (Anverso)
Información del disco :
Título: Flick of the Switch
Precio aprox.:$11.98 (USD)
Fecha de Publicación:
Tipo:Audio CD
Sello Discográfico:Atlantic / Wea
Valoración de Usuarios :
Media (4.4) :(67 votos)
41 votos
16 votos
5 votos
5 votos
0 votos
Contenido :
1 Rising Power
2 This House Is On Fire
4 Nervous Shakedoown
5 Landslide
7 Deep In The Hole
8 Bedlam In Belgium
9 Badlands
10 Brain Shake
(Los Angeles, CA)
13 personas de un total de 13 encontraron útil la siguiente opinión:
- Hard-hitting, unusually serious.

If there's one AC/DC album that aims for respectability, for something more serious than the band's usual feel-good rock about sex, parties and rock n' roll, Flick of the Switch is that album. Though Highway to Hell offers catchier tunes and Back in Black was the commercial behemoth, Flick of the Switch is the band at its most uncompromising, loaded with writhing electric-guitar work, seething energy, groove, and a darker touch. From the bone-rattling power chords of "Rising Power" to the lumbering drive of "Guns for Hire", AC/DC sounds metallic and tough, Brian Johnson taking his ragged vocal style to its limit (before he turned into the hoarse, oddly interesting, yet not-for-all-tastes screech in the '90s). Possibly my favourite of the Brian Johnson AC/DC albums, even if it's less commercial, less anthemic, and less hook-laden than Back in Black.

(United States)
8 personas de un total de 8 encontraron útil la siguiente opinión:
- really solid--doesn't reach classic status, but comes pretty close

Originally released in August of 1983, "Flick of the Switch" is a damn fine AC/DC record, and if you love the band, I really can't understand not digging it.

In the liner notes for the 2003 remastered version of "Flick...", Malcolm Young explains that the band wanted to get back-to-basics with this record, which they produced themselves, and you can see what he means--the album has a real live-in-the-studio sound to it, with guitars exploding out of the speakers, plus all but two of the tracks are under 4 minutes, and they've completely ditched the special effects a la the bell tolls on "Hells Bells" or the cannons on "For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)". Also, Brian Johnson's vocals are at their gloriously piercing best throughout.

The liner notes in the 2003 reissue also state that the album is "remarkably varied". Is this a joke or what? One thing that there sure as hell isn't a lot of on this album is variety. The boys do a nice job of mixing up the tempos--you have your slower paced tunes ("Rising Power", "Nervous Shakedown", "Deep In The Hole"), medium-fast tunes (title track, "Guns For Hire", "Bedlam In Belgium"), and fast tunes ("Landslide", "Brain Shake")--but that hardly makes for a "remarkably varied" batch of songs. One thing I won't argue about though is that the album is indeed very consistent.

The album starts off with "Rising Power" which is one of those great AC/DC stompers, with a brilliant sequence of kickass riffs. Likewise, "Nervous Shakedown" has another great sequence of riffs and builds spellbinding tension before breaking into the call-and-response chorus. The title track, with its sly guitar licks, is a ton of fun. The boogying "Landslide" is one of the most wildly exciting rock songs ever--it's a furious, fast-paced thrill ride with an ultra-catchy rapid-fire vocal hook leading into the chorus, and blistering guitar soloing from Angus; if this song doesn't get your heart racing, I don't know what the hell will. Also irresistible are "Deep In The Hole", with its cry-of-desperation chorus; and "Bedlam In Belgium", with its clever almost-but-not-quite-synchronized rhythm guitar parts and its spiritedly malevolent chorus.

As solid as the album is, it's not a bonafide classic. "This House Is On Fire" is a middling rewrite of "Hells Bells". "Guns For Hire" sounds a bit rushed-through and underwritten, although there's no denying that it's got a hell of a main riff. The bluesy "Badlands" lazily recycles the "Bad Boy Boogie" riff, although there is an ear-catching bit in the riff just before the guitar solo. The album closing "Brain Shake" is a really cool tune that seems to borrow some of its riffery straight from the Beatles "Helter Skelter", but the repetitive "joy to ride" 'hook' gets to be a little annoying, as does the heavy repetition of the title.

You've got to be nuts to think that this album marks the beginning of a major artistic decline for AC/DC. If you actually enjoy the watered-down, Foreigner-style arena-rock of songs like "Touch Too Much" and "You Shook Me All Night Long", then it makes sense that you'd find this album disappointing. But the true AC/DC aren't about lame cockrock; they're about ass-kicking hard rock, and "Flick of the Switch" does a very fine job of capturing the true essence of the band--this album is a must for any true AC/DC fan.

(Chalfont, PA)
5 personas de un total de 5 encontraron útil la siguiente opinión:
- Most underrated AC/DC album

Most of the AC/DC fans I know all agree that this album is one of their best. The critics must have been ... the day they rated this poorly. As a matter of fact, they had it backwards. For Those About to Rock is not nearly as good as Flick of the Switch. FTATR has a few good songs, but is largely inconsistant. Flick of the Switch is good AC/DC music all the way through.

Perhaps this album didn't get the great reviews because it didn't have any radio hits. Don't let that stop you from giving it a chance, though. This album is up tempo, classic AC/DC. Personal favorites include the title song, and "Nervous Shakedown." This is one killer AC/DC album.

4 personas de un total de 4 encontraron útil la siguiente opinión:
- One of the best kept secrets in rock and roll

AC/DC is a great band, no question about it. When you think of their great albums, you think of Back in Black, Powerage, and High Voltage. Flick of the Switch is not in that league, but...Flick of the Switch is still a great album. The thing about AC/DC is that they are such a good band that most of their albums are good, even their bad ones. My friend and I always thought that Flick of the Switch was one of the best kept secrets in rock and roll, along with Aerosmith's Draw the Line and The Who's Who by Numbers. All had no big hits and sales for these albums were par at best. Just give them all a listen and you'll agree. Some fine, rock tunes. Enjoy them all...

Análisis de usuario
4 personas de un total de 4 encontraron útil la siguiente opinión:
- One of AC/DC's most underrated efforts

I absolutely love this album. I am in the minority it seems as I really like the sound quality. (It was produced by Angus and Malcolm) I would rate it as being my second favorite album with "Powerage" in the top spot.

Discografías - Fotos - Letras - Midis - Fondos - Noticias - Conciertos - DVDs - Videos Musicales
Contact Us - Advertise - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use